the middle of nowhere   Leave a comment

So its been a while. 3 months a while. I’m not going to say that it’s not going to happen anymore and that I’ll be more diligent with keeping up with this thing. That would be a lie. I have had somethings to say but I just haven’t. Oh well, what are you going to do?
One thing that has been bothering me lately, however, is how people can live in the middle of nowhere and be happy. Not tiny island in the middle of the ocean but random boring places like Kansas or Nova Scotia or Vermont. What do you do? How do you exist? I guess with the internets and all that nowadays we have the world at our fingertips and can order whatever items we want from where ever we want them whenever we want them. But still, what do you do for fun? What do you eat? I know a lot of people would just dismiss me as just being another New York snob (I won’t exactly deny it) but I’m being serious in my interest. I’ve met people from everywhere and when I question them about the little hometown in Iowa or where ever they’re from they’ll say something about how there is actually a really good scene for ______ there and it’s a lot cooler than it sounds. But I always counter with it maybe being good for there, but does it compare to NY? The answer is never yes. Now I’m not putting down any other places (except LA. fuck LA.) but I just don’t know how people live anywhere without the amenities of a major metropolitan area. Growing up in the SF Bay Area and living in NY I’ve been spoiled my whole life when it comes to that and I just don’t know how people exist. Just curious. More power to you though. Home is where you’re happy and if I could be happy in some little town on the coast of Maine I’d be writing how about how it’s weird that people live in big cities.

Posted August 14, 2011 by skawalrus/Jeremy Christian in thoughts

Leave a Reply

